Offensive Weapon

Offensive Weapon



This Oi!/R.A.C band was from Belfast and not the band with same name from Wales. They formed in 1981 and their members were Sam McCrory – vocals, Brian Watson – guitar, Johnny Adair – bass and Julian Carson – drums. They recorded a demo with songs like ‘Made In Ulster’, ‘Gestapo R.U.C’ and played about 20 gigs.

Their first live appearance was in a big R.A.C concert in 29th September 1984 together with Last Orders, Buzzard BaitPublic EnemyBrutal Attack and Skrewdriver. Carson left the band in 1983. Their dedicated supporters were known as the ‘Offensive Weapon White Warriors’ and Skrewdriver security Matty, led them.

Sam McCory went on to became the Ulster Defence Association (U.D.A.)  / Ulster Freedom Fighters (U.F.F.) leader in the Maze prison while serving 16 years for conspiracy to murder. Johnny Adair travelled to the mainland and spent time with Ian Stuart. During this time Johnny was a member of the Ulster Young Militants (U.Y.M.) and later the U.D.A. Johnny went on to become the leader of 1st Battalion, ‘C’ Company U.F.F. An active service unit who in their own words “took the war to the IRA”, many feel this unit and one or two others were directly responsible for forcing the rebel Irish Republican Army to the negotiating table and ceasing their murderous attacks on the Loyalist community of Ulster.



Official Productions

1983 – Demo – ??? – ??


Track Lists

01. Pictures of dummies
02. Rough justice
03. Victim of the voodoo
04. New generation
05. Belfast
06. I don’t agree
07. Lunatic
08. No way
09. Switchblade
10. Never stay down
11. Offensive Weapon
12. East and West
13. Shoot to kill
14. On my back
15. Bad man
16. Wild thing